Life, Rambles, Thoughts and reflections

When you are sick of your job but you can’t leave it until you find a new one

Yeah, you know it. You started a new job and were excited about the new opportunity and the novelty of it all, but as time passes and the novelty wears off, you realize your salary is crap, your boss is toxic, there’s no possibility to grow in the company and it’s not worth it to spend 3 hours on public transportation to go to work and go back home. It’s just not worth it.

I started this job in August 16th, 2016. I was dumped in an office with no training or defined knowledge of my role and assigned tasks. I didn’t even have a pen! I have learned my job “a los coñazos”, as we say in Venezuela (it roughly translates as “being hit by the experience”, or learned by experiencing things) and while some parts of it are enjoyable, I think it’s time to move on.

I’m not going to lie, money is a big deal right now. I have been working for the past 15 years and I am making peanuts. I have a Masters degree that apparently doesn’t mean anything in this job, so I decided to find a place where both my experience and academic background are better appreciated (and paid). I am grateful to this company because the boss gave me a chance without even meeting me (it was a Skype interview and he offered me the job on the spot) but it’s time for me to move on and find something new.

Wish me luck!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

